Big Five Golf Safaris      Terms And Conditions
South Africa  SA Tours International Tours Golf Breaks Sport Tours School Tours Courses Places of Interest Book a Tour Custom Tours Contact Us

South Africa

South Africa occupies the southern tip of Africa, its long coastline stretches more than 2 500km from the desert border with Namibia on the Atlantic coast, southwards around the tip of Africa, then north to the border with subtropical Mozambique on the Indian Ocean.

South Africa has three major towns: Cape Town, Pretoria and Johannesburg. The largest and most important city is Johannesburg, the economic heartland of the country. Other important centres include Durban and Pietermaritzburg in KwaZulu-Natal, Port Elizabeth in the Eastern Cape, Bloemfontein and Kimberley.

By far South Africa's biggest border is the ocean - or two oceans, which meet at the southwestern corner of the country. The cold Benguela current sweeps up from the Antarctic along the Atlantic coast, laden with plankton and providing rich fishing grounds. The east coast has the north-to-south Mozambique/Agulhas current to thank for its warm waters. These two currents have a major effect on the country's climate.

OR Tambo International Airport in Johannesburg, is South Africa’s major air hub, and is serviced by over 70 airlines, including the national carrier South African Airways, international flights also arrive at Cape Town International Airport.

Seven domestic airlines service the country, including South African Airways (SAA) and its sister carriers, Airlink and South African Express; British Airways (operated by Comair) and the low-cost airlines of Mango, 1Time and

Johannesburg International Airport